Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

One meal on fast day?

Hi, everyone. I'm new to 5:2 fasting. Do you eat one big meal, or several small snacks throughout the day that total 500 calories (e.g., boiled egg at breakfast, small can of soup at lunch, carrots as a snack, etc.)? Does it make a difference? Thanks.

Replies

• flumi_f
    flumi_f Posts: 1,888 Member
    Everything is allowed. I prefer two meals, 100-150 cals for lunch and rest for dinner. Lots of veggies and lean protein. Grain carbs make me hungry thus I avoid them on fast days. It's all trial and error until you know, what allows you to make your fast as easy as possible.
  • pinelakecutie
    pinelakecutie Posts: 28 Member
    Thanks. I just noticed the fast day menu thread, too. Great ideas there. I think several small meals will probably work best for me. That way I won't reach the stage where I'm starving.
  • mamainthekitchen
    mamainthekitchen Posts: 929 Member
    Yup trial and error! Everyone's different. I usually like 150 cals around noon or early afternoon then rest for dinner. Lots of extra water & teas help throughout the day! Good luck!
  • flossyruby1
    flossyruby1 Posts: 337 Member
    I'm better with one meal at night and drinking water all day. Usually, I'll have a Diet Pepsi around lunchtime and maybe miso soup. Sprouts has a great product called easy miso. Just 2 tbsp is 30 calories (it's either 30 or 60). Hunger is so transient. Yes, there are times when I start chewing on inanimate objects, but that's ok. If I can't find a calorie count for bar stools on MFP, then there are none.