Options
Gerkenstein
Gerkenstein Posts: 315 Member
I joined this group yesterday, but I'm hoping there may still be some active members around. I've been smoking for about 5 years, around a pack a day (some days less, some days more). I am making myself and my health the first priority in my life, so that includes quitting smoking. I've owned the Alan Carr book "The Easy Way to Quit Smoking" for several months and I haven't even read the first page. I know you can smoke while reading the book...I'm afraid of what happens or what I have to do when I'm done reading the book.
I started smoking casually when hanging out with friends when my dad died 5 and a half years ago, then I became a regular smoker. I learned within 6-8 months after my dad died that I was suffering from PTSD, depression (which I've struggled with on and off throughout my life), and severe anxiety. While I have good medication that helps me regulate my anxiety, I still rely on smoking to help "take the edge off," so to speak...not to mention I'm addicted so the entire concept of control is an illusion.
I want to quit smoking, but I'm terrified of losing this crutch that I have come to rely so heavily on to cope/manage my anxiety. But I need to quit. Would like to do it by August of this year. Any and all support and encouragement would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• jrusso28
    jrusso28 Posts: 249 Member
    Options