Sushi Restaurant

BrownsFan19
BrownsFan19 Posts: 117 Member
SO I'm VERY new to Keto. As in I just started today and have been researching it for about a week now. I've got a lunch date with my friend in a few days and we are going to a sushi restaurant. I'm curious about what you guys suggest I get? I'm not really a fan of the raw fish so I usually go for shrip or crab. But will the rice ruin the keto plan for me? What other options do you guys go for? I can get Edamame, but not sure what else.

Also..... Whats the rule for Chicken Wings? lol. Have a family outing at a wing place this coming weekend so trying to plan ahead.

Replies

• KnitOrMiss
    KnitOrMiss Posts: 10,103 Member
    Most of the time sushi places will do a variation with extra veggies and no rice in the rolls. If not, just limit your quantity. I found that about 5 1" pieces didn't toss me out of ketosis, but I was fairly adapted at the time... I believe crab is higher in carbs that shrimp (and fake crab is higher than real crab), but I don't remember ever getting kicked out by shrimp alone. With raw fish, it's called sashimi - but some places replace the rice with cucumber and call it Bonzai Rolls... Others have appetizers that are salmon, tuna, avocado, with spicy mayo... Seaweed salad... Order a hand roll and skip the rice... Some folks recommended sitting at the sushi bar to ask the chef for suggestions...

Most home recommendations included cauliflower/cream cheese in place of rice, and lots of avocado and spicy mayo... I'd look up online and see what options you may have before you go...and if it isn't clear online, do not hesitate to call and explain. Call it a sensitivity or an allergy if they act like they don't understand...