Need help with clean

Options
luckynky
luckynky Posts: 123 Member
Does anyone have a good video or tutorial on the clean? I've watched Lauren Brooks' video on how not to bang up forearms, but I just can't seem to get it. Furthermore, I seem to be banging the outside of my bicep. Any suggestions?

Replies

• jsazieser
    Options
    I'm trying to figure out how you're hitting your bicep. Is the kettlebell not swinging around and away from you? How heavy of a kettlebell are you using? I'm not an expert, but do a lot of cleans.
  • IronSmasher
    IronSmasher Posts: 3,908 Member
    Options
    I'm on my phone at the minute but it was kbellqueen that helped me realise how vertical the movement is.

You move your arm around the temporarily weightless bell rather than flipping the bell over. Like many lifts, with heavy bells, you also soften your knees and dip a bit to cushion the landing on your forearm.
  • luckynky
    Options
    I'm trying to figure out how you're hitting your bicep. Is the kettlebell not swinging around and away from you? How heavy of a kettlebell are you using? I'm not an expert, but do a lot of cleans.

It's 10 lbs. The kettlebell is swinging around, then lands into my bicep. I actually now have a nice bruise on the left one. Part of this problem is that it's nearly impossible to describe anything like kettlebell movements with words and be precise. :(
  • luckynky
    Options
    I'm on my phone at the minute but it was kbellqueen that helped me realise how vertical the movement is.

You move your arm around the temporarily weightless bell rather than flipping the bell over. Like many lifts, with heavy bells, you also soften your knees and dip a bit to cushion the landing on your forearm.