58 and trying (yet again) to get myself in shape

Options
Hi, I just turned 58 and while I make fits and starts toward getting myself in better shape, nothing sticks. I would like to say I've struggled with my weight, but it's like I'm frustrated and fluctuate between ignoring it and raging at it.

I was a super skinny kid. I ate what I wanted, and in high school (class of 1983), I weighed 99 pounds when I graduated. But, late puberty and going into college things started to change. By the time I got out of college, I was about 125. Which would have been great if I had stopped there. But, except for a brief 8-month stint at Weight Watchers, I have never successfully lost or kept off any weight. I'm not a yo-yo at all...just a slow and steady incline up up up up. By 30, I weighed 156. Went to WW, and lost 20 in 8 months and kept it off for about two years, but then it crept up again, had two kids, went through menopause...yadda yadda yadda, now I'm at 211. (down from 215 a week ago). So, while I look at diets and try and get on eating plans the weight keeps creeping up and I am worried that there's nothing I can do to stop it. I feel like I'm utterly incapable of it.

At age 50, I decided to be someone who exercises regardless of weight. I didn't go gangbusters, but for the last 8 years, I meet with a trainer 2x a week. She's amazing and even though the weight kept going up, I am in better shape overall. I'm very strong. I love feeling strong. And, without the trainer, I doubt I'd do the balance and stretching that one should do as one ages. But, it's not enough. I still gained. At 50 I weighed 185 and thought THAT was the worst. I am not the type who sees weight go down with exercise. Just doesn't happen. But at least, since 50, I am consistent with my little efforts.