How do you get kids to eat clean?

Options
I am relatively new to this concept and believe me I do not think that I will be able to retrain my own mind as quickly as I would like as a sandwich for lunch is like a habit of a lifetime for me (yes I know I will still be able to have a sandwich, but a 'clean' sandwich is a little different to what I am used to.) I will however adapt and adjust and most likely enjoy this new way of life.

I have two daughters who as much as I like to think eat a good diet I do give them some foods sometimes that do not meet the criteria of clean eating, they both love fishfingers for example. Again I will happily adjust to making these things out of the proper homemade ingredients but I do worry that they will struggle with such a change. They can both be a little fussy at the best of times, neither for example like to eat raw vegetables unless they have something to dip it in like hummus. Maybe I am thinking too much into it but I would like to change to a healthier way of living as a family. I actually thought that we were eating quite clean, I don't have treats in the house such as biscuits, but raisins and fruit bars instead.

Does anyone who already follows this diet have any tips for getting the kids to eat a clean diet? How do you say no at birthday parties, or do you let them eat the processed crisps that are on offer? I don't buy fruit squash for my children at home yet at present I allow them to drink it at toddler group as a treat and because all the other children have it. Sorry for the ramble i'm just so confused at how to approach a proactive cleaner way of life for a whole family.

Replies

• Onesnap
    Onesnap Posts: 2,819 Member
    Options
    There's a few ways that I have found work really well.