Too Many Carbs?

Do you guys think 27 carbs is a lot for one day? I don't know, I'm new to this..

Replies

• sb4480
    sb4480 Posts: 199 Member
    What's your target carb allowance? And is that count net carbs (total carbs minus total fiber)?
  • Domane1963
    Domane1963 Posts: 85 Member
    What's your target carb allowance? And is that count net carbs (total carbs minus total fiber)?
    Pardon my ignorance because I'm new to this but please can you explain what you mean by this and how you calculate? I'd be most grateful, thanks
  • LeahMaria26
    LeahMaria26 Posts: 62 Member
    Pardon my ignorance because I'm new to this but please can you explain what you mean by this and how you calculate? I'd be most grateful, thanks

I am also curios about this
  • sb4480
    Different people have different targets because we're all different. <100g (net) is considered "low carb" but most people don't enter ketosis until they're under 50g, Atkins induction advises 20g. Some people find that they lose faster at 50g, some need to go even lower to get into ketosis and see the scale move.

I'm on my phone so I don't have the link handy, but there is a calculator that will help you figure out the macros you need to achieve your goal. I will try and find it tomorrow.

But for the most part it's trial and error. Atkins has you starting really low to jumpstart the process, but then you're supposed to add carbs until you match the amount of carbs to the amount and rate of loss that you're targeting.

So for me 27 net carbs is higher than I'd like because I aim to keep it under 20 net. But for someone else 27 is right on target. So the OP's post was too vague to answer because its all subjective