reactions?

Options
I am new to this and have gone 2 days primal. I have made Elana Amsterdam's Cheddar Cheese Crackers and Classic Carrot Cake (no frosting). So I've had more almonds lately (almond flour), but I have eaten a lot of raw almonds as snacks for 30 years. Now yesterday (day 2) I have had a constant runny nose which is clear. This morning, my nose is still going and I have a rash on chest and arms. Are these normal reactions or should I be looking at something else? Thank you for any help and support.

Replies

• mike00t
    mike00t Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    Hi - It could be just a coincidence, and you're actually having an allergy to something else. On the other hand, it takes a lot of almonds to make almond flour so maybe you actually have an allergy that only presents itself when you eat a lot of them. Personally, I'm not on board with all of the nut flour recipes that are supposedly primal/paleo. If I want something sweet I'll have a piece of fruit or a few squares of dark 70% chocolate.
  • shuki_cotren
    shuki_cotren Posts: 328 Member
    Options
    It could be a number of things. If you are sensitive to something that you are eating a lot more of now than you were before, that might explain the rash. I would discuss with your doctor.

I've also read posts about rashes during a "detox" and rashes during rapid fat loss. I'm not really sure how common those are, and if you are only 2 days into going primal, I would think the food sensitivity/allergy to be a more realistic explanation.

If it were me, I'd cut out the almonds (or other food I suspect) and see how long it takes the rash to go away. Or you could take benadryl or antihistamines and see if it goes away...again, talk to your doctor...
  • kenkl
    kenkl Posts: 26 Member
    Options