Bench press no spotter

Options
madmags
madmags Posts: 1,340 Member
I am just starting out, so a spotter is not an issue. But my question is for some of you that are hiting higher weights. Do you use a spotter? Do you bench in the squat rack with the safety bar just below chest level? I am not to that point yet, but was just worried about when I do hit that point. I work out at a gym, but I work out alone. I could ask for a spot from someone there, but often I am the only one hitting the free weights when I go.

Replies

• mgorham13
    mgorham13 Posts: 168 Member
    Options
    In the beginning if I barely got up the 4th rep on BP I didn't do the 5th and just did the same weight the next time. I have always got it the next time. As the weight got heavier I use the squat rack for BP with the safety bars just below chest level as I always workout alone.
  • RockWarrior84
    RockWarrior84 Posts: 839 Member
    Options
    In the beginning if I barely got up the 4th rep on BP I didn't do the 5th and just did the same weight the next time. I have always got it the next time. As the weight got heavier I use the squat rack for BP with the safety bars just below chest level as I always workout alone.

I do the same and if not able to get the weight you can always hook the bar onto the closest bars to catch it (like if you get 3/4 of the way up and can finish rep).
  • MickeS
    MickeS Posts: 108 Member
    Options
    I use the squat rack for BP with the safety bars just below chest level as I always workout alone.
    Yepp :smile:
  • cajuntank
    cajuntank Posts: 924 Member
    Options
    I use the squat rack for BP with the safety bars just below chest level as I always workout alone.

^^^ x2 :smile:
  • 257_Lag
    257_Lag Posts: 1,249 Member
    Options

^^^ x2 :smile:

And I practiced the roll of shame long before I approached failure!
  • madmags
    madmags Posts: 1,340 Member
    Options
    AKChevy wrote: »