Deadlift Back Pain

Options
lavendy17
lavendy17 Posts: 309 Member
Hi group. I'm still new here, and I have a lot of questions but am trying to ask one at a time :)
So, today was Stage 1, Workout 2-B. i.e. this is my second time doing the deadlift. I watched many videos on form, and I really try to get my back straight or in natural curve, but I think I am arched a bit. Not sure what I am doing wrong.
I am using an empty barbell that is initially 45lbs, and I add a 10lb weight on each side = 65lbs total. The barbell is resting on something so I have the minimal height to lift it since the 10lbs weights are small.
The problem is that I am feeling some pain in my lower back, and I am afraid that once I start adding more weight, I will injure myself. But perhaps this pain is natural muscular pain and I am simply straining the muscle and making it stronger?

Please help me as I am new to weight training. Thanks!!

Replies

• sleepyjen
    sleepyjen Posts: 679 Member
    Options
    I had a little achiness the first day or two that I deadlifted, and really watched my form. I did, however, start with really low weights--if I were you, I'd drop it and see if that helps. Try a lighter ez curl bar with some plates--25 or 35 lbs altogether--and see how it goes. It'll help you sort out any form issues without hurting yourself.
  • BarbellCowgirl
    BarbellCowgirl Posts: 1,271 Member
    Options
    You shouldn't feel pain while you are doing it. A *bit* of soreness after lifting can be normal, but really shouldn't feel it in your lower back so much. Scale back the weight until you *know* your form is perfect.
    When I initially started dead lifting, I had some mobility issues and it took me months to realize that the motion I was doing was wrong. I didn't injure myself, thankfully, but I wasn't helping myself by ingraining the incorrect movement.