Ideal weight or insurance chart weight?

I wonder whether people who post their goal weight are going for something that feels right or something that the insurance companies post as our ideal weight? I know that my ideal weight is 167. I have to point out I haven't seen 167 since I graduated high school and subsequently went on a liquid diet and lost 20 pounds! That was 2 children and dare I say, 31 years ago.

Right now I know what I feel comfortable at but that weight is a fair amount above what is "ideal" for my body type. So right now instead of saying I have 100 pounds to lose I say 50 and it makes it a whole lot more manageable in my mind.

I'm not looking for numbers here, just wondering if people feel comfortable at a weight that is above their "ideal" weight as outlined by "them".

Happy Friday to everyone!

Replies

• MelRC117
    MelRC117 Posts: 911 Member
    I'm supposed to weigh 145 and I never could imagine actually getting even close to that, so that could be why I would be comfortable with 175. It's seems like a much more manageable goal. Judging by what size I was at when I was 215, I would hover around size 10/12 which would make me really happy. My ultimate goal is a size 10..

My husband is also the same way. He is supposed to be around 180, but didn't weigh that since high school. He has very skinny arms and legs, so I couldn't imagine there would be alot left to them if he dropped to that number. He would be more comfortable and thrilled with right around 200.
  • LuluNH
    LuluNH Posts: 75 Member