Ways to Rev up a sluggish Metabolism

Options
:flowerforyou: Hi! I am new to MFP and loving it so far! It's a reality check for me in terms of realizing just how many calories I have been consuming. I would like to pick everyone's brain on surefire ways to rev up my metabolism. I am 55, female and have noticed that it is so much more of a struggle to keep weight off in the past few years, though I am fairly active. Thank you for any light you can shed on this !

Replies

• Lorilea123
    Lorilea123 Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    I'm 55 as well, and after successfully losing 30 pounds two years ago I find it's starting to creep back. I'm more active now (strength training, waterskiing), but even though I'm good about watching my calorie intake I can't seem to lose any of the 8 pounds I've gained back. I'd love some ideas on how to jump start my metabolism!
  • OldChief10
    OldChief10 Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    I struggle like everyone else, but when the scale recently got stuck and refused to move downward I added heavy lifting and HIIT to what had been a light lifting/steady-state cardio exercise routine. I guess the "science" is that heavy lifting burns calories for a longer period of time (increased metabolism). Worked for me as the scale is moving south again. Good luck all.
  • kwantlen2051
    kwantlen2051 Posts: 455 Member
    Options
    Hi, I'm 56 and joined in Sept 2013. And at only 5'2", the extra 25-27 lbs pounds I gained since menopause looked so heavy on me. I lost 20 lbs so far and trying to lose the last 4-5 lbs. I've been stuck at my current since Apr. I'd lose a pound then gain it back a day or two later. I too need ideas to jump start my metabolism. Tried zig-zag eating. It worked in the past, but lately not too much success. I am also walking more courtesy of a fitbit flex I got on Mother's Day and keeping active more. Maybe I need to add activities or go back to the gym since I haven't been for years.
  • redzz16