OK I'm going to say it - beer

Options
iwillrun2
iwillrun2 Posts: 34 Member
I'm relatively new to the paleo/primal world - started eating clean on May 12/14. I was hugely surprised how easily I could let go of breads, pasta, cookies, etc. My sweets are non-existent - no chocolate, desserts, etc. I'm a believer in this lifestyle. But I'm getting a bit discouraged as I'm only down just over 4 lbs in 6 weeks. I am keeping my carbs around 80 for the most part and calories (even though I don't need to count) are about 1600 on average. I DO however enjoy a ice cold beer on the patio in the summer. I checked the beer (Brava) and it came in at only 9 carbs which surprised me. I have read that alcohol slows your metabolism, so could this be my problem? I'm having maybe about 5/week. I want to make paleo/primal my lifestyle, but would still like to enjoy a drink once in a while. I have been on and off about tracking, but swear on a stack of bibles - no grains, sugar. I had started with about 2 fruit a day and have changed to 1 and sometines no fruit. My only guess is that I should be working out more - I'm doing about 30 minutes fast walking about 5 days/week.
Looking for your comments.

Replies

• Akimajuktuq
    Akimajuktuq Posts: 3,037 Member
    Options
    You don't have a lot to lose.. how much faster do you expect to lose? By trying to lose faster you may lose muscle and slow your metabolism. Been there, did it, and am now wishing I'd done it differently at the start two years ago. Losing weight more quickly serves no long term benefit at all. Four pounds in 6 weeks is quite quick for your current weight.

The issue for beer is double: the alcohol and gluten. I've never been a huge fan of beer but do like a dark ale occasionally. I would think 5 per week could certainly affect your progress, but I also don't know what's right for you. I can mostly live without beer, but if I absolutely loved it and life sucked without it, I would find a way to enjoy it occasionally.