How do you all do it???

Options
Disclaimer: This is not a rant or a complaint, but a serious what does your daily/weekly schedule look like post.

I have been running for about 3 years, have done 5 half marathons, numerous 5 and 10ks even a couple 10 milers.

I want to start training for a marathon but am not sure if there is enough time or am I just over thinking it all.

Hubby and I run together 95% of the time. We work Monday through Friday. Hubby leaves home at 515 AM gets home typically before me, cooks dinner (yup I am spoiled) and walks the dogs. About this time I stroll in the door at 530 PM. Run and change clothes and out the door we go. We typically run about 20-30 miles a week, 5 times a week. We know we need to do cross training and we do have Thursdays as no running day and we do a bike ride or something like that. For example this week we have
Monday Rest
Tuesday 4
Wednesday 5
Thursday bike ride
Friday 4
Saturday 7
Sunday 3
We have a half marathon on 10/26 and by week 11 of our training we will be at
Monday Rest
Tuesday 6
Wednesday 11
Thursday bike ride
Friday 6
Saturday 17
Sunday 5 (or some variation of these numbers this particular week)

How is there enough time to add more cross training and core exercises? We are almost always in bed by 9pm. What does your weekly schedule look like? Thank you all in advance I really appreciate it. Next up might be what does your food intake look like post! I am always always always hungry so food is always on my mind.

Replies

• essjay76
    essjay76 Posts: 465 Member
    Options
    There's always a way to make time, I believe.

I'm currently unemployed but even when I was working long hours at my 9-5 job + attending grad school two nights a week, I still put in about 50 miles a week for marathon training. Sometimes I would wake up early, do a doubles day (run in the morning, run during my lunch hour, and/or even after work).