Introductions

Options
Thomasm198
Thomasm198 Posts: 3,189 Member
I've created this group so people who have mental health issues can discuss things openly and freely.

I'm a police officer and 10 years ago after a bad incident in work I developed Post Traumatic Stress. I was on Prozac for about 8 months and attened counselling sessions for a number of years.

On a couple of occasions during my very bad days, I placed a knife against my wrist and contemplated ending everything. During this time in my life, I had serious issues with food. The anxiety attacks I was having were causing me to be unable to eat more than a few small scraps of food at times. If I tried to eat any more than a couple of scraps I used to end up getting physically sick.

I've learned that stress, anxiety, depression, etc, can effect weight. So I'm hoping that this group will help people will help people with their weightloss and other health issues.

Edited to say, that part of my reasoning for creating this group is where people can come and discuss things openly and freely. In the past on the main forum, I have seen some silly comments being made on topics about mental health issues (example: "Your doctor doesn't know what is best for you. Don't listen to him".

Having had my own experiences with mental health issues, and a cousin that didn't survive his issues with mental health issues :cry: ; I am a very strong advocate of promoting mental well-being.

Replies

• Qarol
    Qarol Posts: 6,171 Member
    Options
    *ahem*