Deciding what your maintenance weight should be

Options
JoMFrasca
JoMFrasca Posts: 61 Member
I am new to maintenance, having lost more than 60 pounds since mid-April. At first, I set a fairly modest and attainable goal weight which would just barely put my BMI into the healthy range. I am 5'6" and 58 years old. My first goal weight was 154. Reached that, blew right through it to my real goan weight, which I did not initially admit to myself because it seemed like so much to lose -- 145. Kept going, losing weight even when I switched to maintenance in September and now I am at 134 (BMI is 21). That seems like a lot still, but I have gone from a size 16 to size 4 and I really don't have any desire to get smaller than that. Most of my life I have been in the 130's and a size 6/8. Many folks are telling me I can't lose any more without looking too skinny.

So my question is one that I have been struggling with -- how do you decide that you are really done, lost as much weight as you want and are ready to maintain? This last week my weight was the same as the week before. That's the first time I have not lost weight in my weekly weigh-in since April. I am happy since I do want to maintain now, but also a bit scared. What if I start gaining now? Should I try to lose a bit more so I have more of a cushion? Also, I wonder if I should try for below 130.

My trainer says I weigh as much as I do relative to my clothing size because I have built a lot of muscle in all the working out that I have done the last 6 months while losing weight. He says I look like I weigh 115.

So I am wondering if anyone else has struggled with the issue of what to choose to maintain as your long term weight goal and how you have dealt with that issue.

Replies

• ladybg81
    ladybg81 Posts: 1,553 Member
    Options