Aspiring powerlifter just beginning

Options
kensky
kensky Posts: 472 Member
Hi! I'm Tracey and I just started lifting with goals related to powerlifting. My routine is Mark Rippetoe's Starting Strength regimen which consists of two workouts. Day A is Squats, Bench and Deadlift while Day B is Squats, Press and Power Cleans. I am still working on mastering the Power Cleans but everything else is chugging along nicely.

Prior to starting the Rippetoe plan in October, I did a run of New Rules of Lifting for Women. I'd lifted earlier in my gym rat days before a good ten year lapse, but my goals were all more bodybuilder-esque than they are today.

Hello there!

Replies

• carlwhitley
    Options
    Hello!

Squats on both days? Is that common?

Good core lifting workout there though.
  • AlbionOakley
    AlbionOakley Posts: 169 Member
    Options
    I have done starting strength earlier this year as well, Just moved on to Wendler's 5/3/1. DOnt know if I want to compete in Powerlifting yet but The training certainly complements my Brazilian Jiu Jitsu well.
  • kensky
    Options
    The A and B workouts are not on consecutive days. I am on a M/W/F schedule so M would = A, W=B, F=A and then up again with B on Monday.
  • carlwhitley
    Options
    I was going to say that you'd end up with quads the size of tree trunks in no time!

Good core exercises too, recuiting lots of muscle fibres (assuming that you're not compromising form for a couple of extra lbs on the bar).

I've got a broken finger at the minute (a rugby injury) so I'm struggling to do any pulling exercises - I'm looking forward to get back deadlifting as that's a fantastic exercise.
  • snookumss
    snookumss Posts: 1,451 Member
    Options
    Its great to see people in here! I thought that there were very few serious lifters in MFP when I tried searching for posts in the forums in the past. :D

I don't actually use any particular training plan that is posted online anymore, I train .....