Looking to run first half marathon

Options
I have been running off and on for the past 15 years but since August 1, 2011, I have finally started to make running a priority in my life. Have run 10ks, 5ks and and 8K but have my sights set on a 1/2 marathon in May 2012. I am not fast, but I am consistent. Slowly starting to increase my mileage but also know that losing weight will help me get faster and fitter. Advice from those of you have have undertaken this goal. Should I focus on losing the weight first then getting faster? Or do both?

Replies

• MooseWizard
    MooseWizard Posts: 295 Member
    Options
    I just started running last year. I've ran a 5K and a 4Miler, but am working toward a mini at the end of April. Speed is not a concern for me--finishing will be my first goal. I can work on speed for the next one.
  • MichelleUnger
    Options
    So...your recommendation is to finish the race this first time, not how fast I do it. That is a reachable goal. Finish without passing out or throwing up, right?
  • Dragonfly1996
    Dragonfly1996 Posts: 196 Member
    Options
    I ran my first half in September 2010 before I lost the 18lb to my current weight. I ran my second half last November & knocked 20mins off my time. Although I do attribute some of my weightloss to this improvement in speed (I do think being lighter helps), I think most of it was down to better training & diet the second time around plus having the benefit of hindsight!!

I agree with the above - to just train & enjoy the experience & just finish rather than worrying about your speed. Then you can improve on things with your next one!!

I am applying this to my first marathon in April - just to finish!!!

Good luck :flowerforyou:
  • MooseWizard
    MooseWizard Posts: 295 Member
    Options