Vegan is disordered eating?

Options
aldousmom
aldousmom Posts: 382 Member
An acquaintance is a substance abuse therapist (psychologist) and she told me that I had an eating disorder because eliminating and entire food group is disordered eating. Is this a common belief among mental health professionals? If so, a lot of us are CRAaaaa-zzzzzy.

My own opinion is that eating things you know cause disease is pretty disordered, but my education was not focused on mental health issues. I've only just read a few books on my own.

Has anyone else encountered this opinion? I've heard variations such as "vegan is too extreme...those extreme diets are unhealthy" etc and other similar things from the "I'm going to keep eating what i've been eating for 30 years and continue to complain about why i'm overweight and my health is poor" crowd, but I generally ignore them. The whole "eating disorder" accusation is new to me!

FTR, I don't have an eating disorder, I weigh 150 lbs, eat 1500 cal a day, run 20-25 miles per week...there's nothing wrong with me. I don't vomit or starve or do anything strange (other than not eat animal products...lol)

Replies

• sanjoparolas
    sanjoparolas Posts: 557 Member
    Options
    Sounds like a new tactic to resist considering the benefits of veganism to me . . .
  • JasonSwetland
    JasonSwetland Posts: 235 Member
    Options
    Its ignorance. Plain and simple. Dont be afraid to challenge people like that. Ask them if they eliminate cat or dog, which in some cultures are food. If so Shes disordered. Some cultures even eat their own poop. Does that mean Im disordered? Of course they will say its a disorder to do those things too. They spend too much time trying to classify based on ONLY their cultural point of reference. They come from a meat eating culture therefore "everyone not like me is wrong".