I don't take meds

Options
newtattie
newtattie Posts: 47 Member
Hi,

I am fairly new to MFP but just found and joined this group - I had a thyroid operation 16 years ago - (early 20s then) and had my left lobe removed. I have never taken any medication apart from natural remedies such as kelp. I have always been over weight by about 20 to 30 pounds but felt so bad for the few years before the op that I followed my surgeon's advice when he said - it you start on medication you are on it for life.

Tellingly my two greatest weigh regulations were the loses I experienced during my two pregnancies.

I have been exercising since November - now up to about 5 times a week - I am losing weight but it is a slow steady plod loss.

I eat less than my 1200 calories everyday and yes my trainer says I lose slower potentially because of my thyroid but I do not want to go on medication - does anyone else not take medication and have natural tips to help weight loss.

Thanks for all replies:happy: :happy:

Replies

• lmelangley
    lmelangley Posts: 1,039 Member
    Options
    I'm on meds but my only advice is to watch the calories. Everyone is different, but I find I lose much better at about 1350 calories. I go into plateaus at 1200. But, each of us has to find what works best for us.
  • newtattie
    Options
    Thanks - I am nervous about the calories I consume - generally I struggle to eat them all from a not hungry point of view but this week I have most days so will see if I lose still.
  • tecallahan
    tecallahan Posts: 732 Member
    Options
    There's at least one other on this forum that isn't on meds - she posted today: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/525818-introduction

Terri
  • fiberartist219
    fiberartist219 Posts: 1,865 Member
    Options
    Why don't you take meds? Just curious.
  • newtattie
    Options
    There's at least one other on this forum that isn't on meds - she posted today: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/525818-introduction