HI, cardio junkie ready to try heavy lifting

sleepytexan
sleepytexan Posts: 3,138 Member
Hi all,

I'm a NEW RULES newbie (not new to MFP), spin and dance instructor, cyclist, and stand-up paddleboarder (SUPer). (Actually SUP is more core and resistance than cardio). I have taught group strength classes, however only using 10 lb weights and of course using 128 bpm music in order to keep time. According to the book, useless stuff.

I am 6 weeks past a ski accident where I had a grade 3 tear of my left MCL. I am much improved, but cannot fully straighten my knee without pain yet (almost! almost!). I am rehabbing it as recommended with spin and "last 5% extensions", and deep massage (ouch). I plan to wear my hinged brace during the workouts--as long as I avoid lateral movement, I should be ok. I can't SUP, dance, or cycle on the road right now, so my only activitity since coming back 2 weeks ago has been only spin. Even a cardio freak knows it's ridiculous to just spin every day.

I would normally SUP MWF, but since balancing on a board on the water is not a good idea with a torn MCL, I decided to start this program that I've been hearing about for months while on MFP. I did a pseudo workout yesterday using machines bc I hadn't finished with the book yet, but tomorrow will start with a real workout A.

Although I always eat my exercise calories, this is a huge mindshift for me, especially the part about really paying attention to macros. I have pretty much eaten whatever I wanted in the past, and though my diet is pretty healthy, it certainly has NOT been focused on protein. I set my calories up to maintenance yesterday and changed my macros to 30 protein, 40 carbs, 30 fat; I did not make it, but I did consume more protein than ever before. Not coincidentally, I assume, for the first time ever, I was unable to finish my calories for the day, due to being uncomfortably full. I had 200 left, and I NEVER have calories left.

Aha. this will take some getting used to.