New to paleo

Options

Replies

• impyimpyaj
    impyimpyaj Posts: 1,073 Member
    Options
    Sweet, thanks!

*GASP* I just realized that GRAVY isn't paleo. At least not the way I make it. Hmph. I love gravy! It's like my favorite food, second only to bacon. Maybe I'll have to figure out a different way to make it so I don't have to use the flour and milk.

Replicate an 'au jus' where to boil down juices to the essential flavor ... if you need to thicken, use arrowroot (my choice) ... there is no paleo law; you decide what works for you and let your body tell you what's worth it. For me, flour thickening isn't worth it but arrowroot works fine. Just don't use it to thicken milk based sauces (if you're primal) or it will be slimey.

Good to know! The milk is actually the part that's concerning -- I don't know how to make gravy without milk, and for my own health I really need to cut out dairy. I'll try to figure out how to make au jus. I've never done that before. :)
  • monkeydharma
    monkeydharma Posts: 599 Member
    Options
    Basic reduction sauce or pan gravy recipe:

http://homecooking.about.com/od/saucesandgravies/r/blmisc50.htm
  • impyimpyaj
    Options
    Basic reduction sauce or pan gravy recipe:

http://homecooking.about.com/od/saucesandgravies/r/blmisc50.htm

Awesome, thanks!
  • redpat74
    redpat74 Posts: 33
    Options
    By the way - love the photo! I laugh every time I see it.
  • impyimpyaj
    Options
    By the way - love the photo! I laugh every time I see it.

haha thanks! I took it one day when I was hiding in the bedroom from my children. Because they are insane. I need caffeine to handle the craziness.
  • fishburger
    fishburger Posts: 3
    Options
    I did something similar with zucchini (or courgette, as it is called here). Well Fed has a great recipe for something like spaghetti al olio. Yum. She uses almond flour to add a bit of crunchiness at the end.
  • chelll224
    chelll224 Posts: 52 Member
    Options