Just a lil help from my friends :)

Hi everyone,
I'm new to MPF, EM2LW, and calorie counting (semi-new to that). My brain is literally going "does this really work?" as well as "Wow *insert huge smile :D* I can eat to really lose weight?" with that said I'm soooo confused right now with what calories I should be eating. I use to be a devoted Weight Watcher, and kept going back and forth on it (starving is an understatement on it) especially on this "new" ww plan (if I calculated it all right I was getting maybe 1500 calories)...anyway - I went on Scooby's site and didn't know what to put in for "exercise" -- I'm walking 10,000 steps a day right now (5 miles a day) and on Aug. 1st going to start the exercise in full bloom, but right now I'm thinking the walking is light exercise, not too sure. Ironically I have found online that walking 10,000 steps a day is equal to a 500 calorie burn...so here's the deal do I put the bmr calories for "light exercise" or "no exercise" in mfp or the tdee cut and not worry about putting the exercise cals in? So, that's where I'm confused right now :), I'm hoping this makes sense - kind of in the Overwhelmed phase of all this.

Thank you in advance for your help :)

Replies

• 120weeks
    120weeks Posts: 242 Member
    10,000 steps is about 5 miles. Good work! You are probably more active than me because I have a desk job and go to the gym for my exercise. I would say consider yourself a moderate exerciser for now, get your numbers and reassess your weight/measurements in 4 weeks.
  • Noor13
    Noor13 Posts: 964 Member
    Hi and Welcome :)

Isn't it fab, that you can eat and lose weight?
    And yes it does work :)
    Your body might need some time to adapt, but it will be alright. This is not a quick fix or a fad, so it will take some determination and will power, cause it can be sometimes hard to overcome especially the mental hurdles coming with it.
    Please read through the stickies, so you know what to expect :)