Exercise in the morning and taking Synthroid

Options
When I started here on MFP and join this group I read through a bunch of past threads. The one about exercising in the morning really struck me.

My instructions are to take my synthroid first thing in the morning on an empty stomach and wait for 1 hour before eating. Pretty standard, and I have been doing this for over 15 years. Here's my dilemma. Over the last few year my blood sugar has gone up and now I'm on Metformin once a day with dinner. I'm also on a gluten free diet for gluten intolerance.

Since June I've been faithfully getting up early enough to exercise for a minimum of 30 minutes before work. However, I find that I easily feel light headed and nauseous during these work outs because I have no food in my system. What do you early morning exercisers do? Do you take your synthroid at night instead? Does anyone have any advice on how to energy up for exercise without compromising the effectiveness of my medication?

Replies

• tecallahan
    tecallahan Posts: 732 Member
    Options
    It doesn't matter what time of day you take Synthroid.
  • chelekaz
    chelekaz Posts: 871 Member
    Options
    My doctor said that it didn't matter what time I took it as long as I took it around the same time each day.
  • stxfuneral
    Options
    Synthroid and Levothyroxin are supposed to be taken first thing in the morning. If you take them at night you might see that you will have a hard time sleeping. This happened to me. No one is the same, so it can't hurt to try it. Make sure you check with your doctor first and see what they suggest for you. I had an endocrinologist tell me it HAD to be taken first thing in the morning. It could also be that the medication itself is upsetting your stomach?
  • pet1127
    pet1127 Posts: 572 Member
    Options
    I was told to not take dairy or antacides with in 4 hours of taking the leveroxin. They never mentioned not eating justnot eating dairy or taking antacides.