Feeling light headed

Options
blueimp
blueimp Posts: 230 Member
I'm new to glucose monitoring and am trying different things to get the numbers own. For dinner I had chicken breast, asparagus, and Brussels sprouts. Fresh strawberries to finish.
First time in quite a while no starchy carbs. A little less than 2 hours later, I felt quite light-headed. Took BS reading and it was high, 151, at least for this time of day. I thought dizzy would be low.
Can not eating starchy carbs cause this? Is this weird?

Replies

• Cameo530
    Cameo530 Posts: 155 Member
    Options
    It seems strange. Have you eliminated other possible causes for the light-headedness? i.e. overall fatigue, your total calorie intake for the day, any unusual exercise today? I've never heard of skipping carbs for one meal making someone feel ill (except a friend who's hypoglycemic, but that certainly doesn't apply!), but then again, we're each unique.
  • Sharonks
    Sharonks Posts: 884 Member
    Options
    I'm also guessing unrelated. Sometimes people get hypo symptoms with normal readings because their body isn't used to normal but way too high. You seem to have a lot of normal readings though so I don't think your body is in shock at your current BG. Maybe you're tired? Did you drink enough water? Did you eat enough cals? Sometimes I get that way right before I come down with something. Hope that's not the case.
  • Sharonks
    Sharonks Posts: 884 Member
    Options
    Just thinking could your BP be off?
  • blueimp
    Options
    Maybe you're tired? Did you drink enough water? Did you eat enough cals? Sometimes I get that way right before I come down with something. Hope that's not the case.

Yes, this reading doubled as bedtime reading. I think so; 16 (equiv) glasses of water, 1343 calories. I hope not too!
    Slightly shorter walk, insignificant difference.
    Thanks.
  • LauraDotts
    LauraDotts Posts: 732 Member
    Options