Weight Training, Frequency, and Efficiency ?

amonkey794
amonkey794 Posts: 651 Member
Okay. It seems every time I post it is about exercise. My question this time is about all the talk of efficiency of a workout with time and frequency.

I am a first semester college student. With an intended science major, so I have 2 science lectures with attached labs, a math class, a composition, and this other seminar crap I had to take. I am constantly suffering from stress and anxiety. (I actually have anxiety issues). All day. The only time I don't stress is during my workout every week day morning. Right now I have been weight training 90 minutes MWF with 30 minutes stairmaster cardio and some from of group fitness class for 60 minutes on T/TH. I want to change that Thursday to another weights day. I like the idea of keeping my cardio for heart benefits, but to be honest I really dread it and it doesn't help me de-stress the way weights do.

That is the main reason for weights. They are what keep me from just falling off the deep end. I am always barked at for having my workouts to long and frequent and that they are actually less efficient because of it. Most of these people I know have no real background on this information.

Is this really true? My goals are at maintaining now. Weight, muscle, and BF composition. I have the body I am happy with and I'd like to keep it. So will keeping this routine disrupt that? Will it somehow cause my BF to increase because I am not changing it up? I would hope not because I would really like to have this as a way to keep my stress level minimal?

I hope this was enough background information to give me any answers or advice. :) Thank you!

Replies

• bltrexler
    bltrexler Posts: 180 Member
    My best advice to you is stay away from beer, late night junk food and you stay at your current weight. As far as efficiency I don't really have an answer for you. Not sure my self.
  • wfte
    wfte Posts: 195 Member