Traveling at the beginning of Stage 2

andrea9873
andrea9873 Posts: 171 Member
Hi all! I'm new to lifting and really am enjoying it...i look forward to WO days like crazy. I officially start Phase 2 of Stage 1 today and can't wait!

So I'm looking at where I'll be in a few weeks...and it looks like I'll be finishing Stage 1 the day before I head down to visit my daughter who's studying abroad. I still have no idea what the fitness centers at either of the hotels I'm staying at will have. Any ideas on how I can either extend Stage 1 for a few more days until i return to start Stage 2 here at my regular gym or maybe I can start stage 2 with resistance bands. (feels so wrong)

Also what do ya'll do for step-ups if there's nothing sturdy available. Last week I used a cushioned weight bench (at knee) and almost fell over because it was so unsturdy.

thanks for your help

Andrea

Replies

• jenniet04
    jenniet04 Posts: 1,054 Member
    Is there any reason you couldn't just take a rest week while you're gone? It's good to let your body to rest from lifting and it seems like your ending Stage 1 at the perfect time to do that. You can always get some workouts in while you're gone, but you can definitely wait to start Stage 2 until you get back. Good luck and have a great vacation!
  • andrea9873
    Absolutely! I was worried about interrupting the program, but now I realize that taking short breaks intermittently seem to help with recovery and building muscle.

I'm going to begin Stage 2 after my short trip. I plan to run, hike, horseback-ride and kayak during these days! So I can come back refreshed and ready to go!
  • kmsairam
    kmsairam Posts: 317 Member
    The book recommends a week off between stages. I know many people skip it, but I am not. I think our bodies do amazing things during recovery. Have fun!
  • andrea9873