Running on Treadmill vs Outside

Options
tpt1950
tpt1950 Posts: 292 Member
I am brand new to running. I run outdoors (asphalt and composite tracks) only and just today I have made it to my first 30 minute run following the Bluefin C25K program - yipee!! I am really slow, about 17 min. mile. I have a friend who runs only on a treadmill and is constantly telling me that if I keep at it I will get to where she is. She just made her first straight 30 minutes at incline 4 at about 4.2 to 4.5 mph. Can someone who is knowledgeable about both forms of this type running (treadmill vs outdoor), please tell me if it is the same running on a treadmill as it is outdoors. Thanks for any feedback!

Replies

• Littlegurl
    Littlegurl Posts: 172 Member
    Options
    No it's not the same. Running outside on a fairly flat surface is said to be comparable to the effort of running at a 1 - 1-1/2 grade incline on a treadmill. On a treadmill u just lift ur feet and the treadmill moves beneath ur feet. Plus, treadmills r the softest surface to run on. Outside u must propel yourself forward. Composite tracks r easier than asphalt and concrete. Composite tracks have more cushion, and they r not difficult to maneuver like asphalt and concrete with unevenness, rocks, and possible street traffic. Trails r softer than even composite tracks usually, but sometimes require maneuvering. All that being said I ran my first 5k today, and trained for it on the treadmill. But as of today I'm hooked on running outside. Treadmill running is very boring even with music. I ran the 5k mostly on asphalt, and a little on concrete. And u don't watch the clock constantly when running outdoors. The treadmill is great for increasing ur speed though. U can set the pace higher and push yourself...
  • SemperAnticus1643
    SemperAnticus1643 Posts: 703 Member
    Options