I'm new to MFP and Keto...

Options
Should I change my diet completely and go all in or ease into Keto? I'm thinking I should ease into it, so I don't suffer from a huge lack of energy. As a teacher, I need my energy. Also, friend me. I need friends/accountability.

Replies

• Bill_from_Philly
    Options
    Well the only real lack of energy you get in Keto is during the keto flu, which doesn't even hit everyone. It happens in the first week or 2 of going low carb and most people get through it pretty easily with some powerade zero or chicken broth to replace electrolytes. Quite honestly once through that you'll have more energy then ever before! I know my energy levels shot through the roof after only about a week on keto.
  • AmyRyan84
    AmyRyan84 Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    I'm new to MFP (fairly new) and started keto a couple weeks ago. Jumped right into it. I had initial weight loss but I actually gained back a 1.5 lb. Anyone have any ideas on why? I'm doing Jillian Michael's 30 day shred religiously (day 27 today) and have been under 20 carbs a day for almost 2 weeks. I also play tennis once a week and have two kids at home, one of which is breastfeeding.
  • KrD265
    KrD265 Posts: 22
    Options
    Thanks creed. Yeah, in my research, chicken broth was a common fix to the ketoflu. I'll get the poweade zero to aid as well. I will definitely need to increase my h2o. I drink tea (unsweet) and diet soda as it is already, but not enough water.
  • praxisproject
    praxisproject Posts: 154 Member
    Options
    The carb flu is just exhausting your internal sugar supplies, so if you're feeling a lack of energy, don't carb up to make it go away, it'll just extend it :D It passes quickly and there's more energy on the other side.
  • jennafurry
    Options
    Hello! This is normal. There's 3 basic stages of keto.