New Here with Questions

Options
cloza12
cloza12 Posts: 68 Member
I've been on MFP for a week, following what the website recommends and have lost 5lbs. Im now 258 lbs.
I've also been doing a lot of reading here and many people have different ways of losing weight. I came across a thread that brought me here. I went to Scooby's website to calculate the tdee and this is what I got:

BMR: 2077
TDEE: 3220
Daily Calories: 2576
This is at 20% (should I do 25% or 15% for my weight?)
I exercise everyday doing 30 min on stationary bike and 20 min Just Dance on wii. I don't have weights but I have the resistance bands that go on your door (hubby says they're the same as weights).
I have a 2 year old and 5 year old so going to the gym is out of the question.
I'm new to all this and very confused with all the different theories on MFP so Im sorry if this is just another thread same as others but I want to do what will work.
So, am I supposed to be eating 2576 calories a day? What exercising should I be doing exactly? Is this program more for people who weight lift?

Replies

• braves1girl
    braves1girl Posts: 189 Member
    Options
    Hey there and welcome! :smile: I'm no pro at this but I do know a little...enough to be dangerous :devil: A 15% cut is reccommended in this group. Have you been doing a very low calorie diet (VLCD) for very long or at all? If not, then start the 15% cut. Eat at cut for 4 wks and then eat at TDEE for a week to let your body know that it can trust you are going to keep feeding it properly.

If you have been eating a VLCD for a long time (I would say 4-6 mos) then you need to do a metabolism reset. That is eating at TDEE for anywhere from 4-12 weeks. There are stickies on the discussion page with tons of information on the reset and what to expect.