Friendship & Intro Thread

Options

Replies

• cheliebee
    cheliebee Posts: 40 Member
    Options
    Hello, I am glad I found this sub. I just found out yesterday that I have hypothyroidism from my doctor and started low dose levothyroxine. I hope it will kick in soon because the constant tiredness I have struggled with for 8 years is horrible, I am working on losing about 35 lbs I have gained from not drinking, not smoking and eating horribly.
  • tracy_phillips2002
    tracy_phillips2002 Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    I have been fighting hypothyroidism for 15 years, Dr. keeps increasing my dose of levo. but hasn't seen any changes. I work out everyday cardio and strengthing. Just trying to keep the scales on a steady decline. Any advise from this group
  • Lucilu75
    Lucilu75 Posts: 14 Member
    Options
    Hi. I was diagnosed with Hashimotos 3 months ago. In retrospect I had every single symptom but kept finding excuses (working shifts, young kids, getting old, feeling cold because I am South American....). I noticed the difference within a month of starting levothyroxine (even the facial swelling, bags and ankle swelling). Dr said not to expect weight loss. I decided for various reasons after 6 weeks of treatment to go on the autoimmune protocol. The bonus, apart from feeling better, was weight loss. I am not sure about the evidence but I have re taught myself to eat more healthily and have successfully re introduced many foods.
    Even though my labs are normal now I still get bouts of tiredness, achy joints.
    I still haven't started excercising but finally feel that after a year of doing nothing I could as no longer feel breathless going up a flight of stairs or have that 'air hunger'.
    Now just need that motivation to start excercising....
  • CSARdiver
    CSARdiver Posts: 6,252 Member
    Options