12 hour shifts

Options
Hi everyone. I usually work 12 hour night shifts on a busy (stressful) med-surg unit. I am getting ready to transfer into the ICU. I will be working 12 hour day shifts for the beginning of orientation and then switching to nights. I think 12 hours shifts in general are a big obstacle to weight loss. There aren't enough hours in the day to eat well, exercise, sleep, and have downtime. How does everyone else handle this dilemma? Is it easier to grab healthy snacks throughout the day versus trying to get a decent break and eating in a hurry? How about exercise? Should we cut ourselves some slack on workdays and exercise on days off? Just beginning (again!!!) and looking for some good motivation and practical tips to help our overworked, overstressed, and overweight profession!

Replies

• melnikdanil1
    Options
    I am ICU night shift nurse.When I graduated school 3 years ago I was 20 lb lighter.I cooped with nights by eating a lot,practicly constantly.Was tired and hated nights.Then I decided to change my attitude towards night shift,and made myself to love iI am standing as much as i can at work.It was hard in the beginning,now I love it.I am watching what i eat,log in daily to MFp and doind 30 day shred daily.When weather is nice I run,and doing kickboxing 2 times week.Do not worry about night shift,there are great advantages of being a night nurse.(especially if you have kids)I sleep from 9 am to 3or 4pm, I don't take naps before work.There are a lot of MFP members who work at night and they are doing great job losing or mantaining weight.You could do it!!!
  • eidc
    eidc Posts: 79 Member
    Options