what is so wrong with 1200?

Options
Hi all. I am pretty new to MFP. I put my info in and it said in order to lose 1 lb a week - as MFP recommends - my calorie limit is 1210. My husband thought this was way too low. He directed me to SparkPeople - so I went there and did all these calculations on a spreadsheet and guess what? In order to lose 1 lb a week, my recommended calorie limit is .... 1215. I then went to the gym for my initial meeting with my personal trainer. Their calculations said my BMR is 1450 - so again, to lose one pound a week I would need to drop down to 1240. I understand that this is based upon a model that doesn't count any additional exercise - so I am going to track my exercise and calories and eat those additional calories each day/week. I am curious though - being new to MFP - what is so wrong with 1200 calories? Especially since MFP is recommending it for me and other calculations get me to the same place. Thanks in advance for the help.

Replies

• juliebmomof3
    juliebmomof3 Posts: 115 Member
    Options
    Idk I have been on 1200 calories after talking to a doctor I work with, and I have lost 17lbs in less than a month. I am trying for 20 by the 1 month mark. I do workout and eat back most of my exercise calories. I do see a lot of posts out there about how 1200 is not enough, but it is working for me.
  • UrbanLotus
    UrbanLotus Posts: 1,163 Member
    Options
    WOW what have you been doing to lose 17 in less than a month??? Just 1200 & normal exercise, or anything special/extra?
  • juliebmomof3
    juliebmomof3 Posts: 115 Member
    Options
    Nothing special, just the 1200 and exercise. And honestly I workout just so I can bank some calories for food I really want aka bacon. I also up my calories once ot twice every couple of weeks. Only thing I can think of is I am bigger and have a lot to lose. I am waiting for that plateu to come.
  • gypsymatis
    gypsymatis Posts: 7 Member
    Options