My name is Dave, and I'm a diabetic

Options
CincyDave
CincyDave Posts: 17 Member
I just got my diagnosis 2 weeks ago, so I'm new to this.

A few years back, I was successful at losing some weight with this site, so I thought I'd try it again.

I'd love to hear from people who were successful at controlling their blood sugar. I'm going to need all the help I can get.

-Dave

Replies

• robert65ferguson
    robert65ferguson Posts: 390 Member
    Options
    Hi Dave and welcome to this group. The good news is that the MFP programme is a great tool for those people trying to control their blood sugars. Just remember that the carb targets set by MFP are a little high for diabetics and need to be adjusted downwards. You know from experience some of the benefits of MFP. Read over the various boards associated with this group and when you're ready to ask questions you will find lots of people here who are willing to share their experience. Feel free to send me a friend request if you think I might be able to help.
  • made2wonder
    made2wonder Posts: 69 Member
    Options
    Hi, Dave. I've been diligent with my meds and making changes in my diet for the past year and a half. My A1c has come down from 7.2 to 5.7 without much weight loss at all. I think I'm down 10 pounds from the beginning of 2012. I picked fiber bars instead of candy bars, whole grains instead of bread and chips, and added more veggies and fruit. So just making better choices can help.

But I know I can do even better with some weight loss, so I joined MFP 6 weeks ago. Now, in addition to the diet, I'm trying to squeeze in some exercise to further boost my health and decrease the need for all my meds.
  • RaineyLaney
    RaineyLaney Posts: 605 Member
    Options