Dying for some saltfish fritters!

Options
SereneRose
SereneRose Posts: 499 Member
I really love these and not had in time but i'm following a low carb diet due to medical reasons (pcos).
I know I must use plain flour but was wondering if I could get away with almond flour or coconut flour or flax meal?

I don't want to go off plan but the way i'm hankering...

Thanks!

Replies

• ackeebee
    ackeebee Posts: 1,042 Member
    Options
    i love saltfish fritters but i am not an expert at making them. tried once and it was a disaster. i bought some saltfish over the weekend so might have another go in the coming days. i am interested to hear the answers to your query below also.
  • TonyStark30
    TonyStark30 Posts: 497 Member
    Options
    Its all about the temperature of the Oil, even if you make what you think is the ultimate batter they can still flop lol, and that might change if you use a different type of flour so I don't know.
  • ackeebee
    Options
    tony, perhaps you can share your recipe with me so i can give it a go this weekend:wink:
  • TonyStark30
    Options
    tony, perhaps you can share your recipe with me so i can give it a go this weekend:wink:

I'll either have to make some or find where I gave someone else the recipe. Some people use eggs and all sorts but as long as you get the batter right so its wet but not so runny, and the oil HOT, you don't need these things!
    If the batter isn't wet enough the Hot Oil will burn them before they cook properly, if you turn down the heat to compensate you just get greasy fritters that aren't crisp.
  • ackeebee
    Options
    thanks. i will try your tips. i don't like mine with eggs. eggs make them too soft and fluffy. i like mine thin and crisp.
  • abfit4life
    abfit4life Posts: 220 Member
    Options