Newbie - Slowly increase cals or jump straight in?

Options
Hi everyone! I'm new to this eat more to weigh less thing although I have been told about it numerous times but I was reluctant to give it a go...

I joined MFP in Sept 2012 and lost 7kg (14lbs) on 1200-1300 cals/day... pre-christmas I decided to increase to 1400 and was still losing weight and everything was fine but then Xmas and a holiday rolled around and everything went out of whack! I gained "holiday weight" (hahah) and decided to go back to 1200 cals but have not seen any progress since!

My weight fluctuates like anything and I can't seem to pinpoint whats going wrong....

I'm going to try EMWL because I feel that it is the right thing to do for my body (and eating habits - I tend to eat alot of fruit but annoyingly its high in cals! lol)

Currently, I'm on 1350 cals and want to increase it but would like some advice on how to do this..... my BMR is 1390; TDEE is 2155 and would like to be in a 20% deficit (so...1700 calorie goal thereabouts)

Should I increase my cals to 1700 straight away, as in, right now? or should I slowly increase by say, 100 cals a week etc...?

My fitness routine is intensive, including intense cardio twice a week (usually P90X) and lifting heavy weights 4 times a week.... I'm sure this has been answered somewhere before but are my 'exercise calories' accounted for in the 1700 calorie goal? I never usually "ate back" my calories even on a 1300 calorie goal anyway but just thought i'd ask.

Thank in advance for the advice! :)

Replies

• heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Options
    Hi everyone! I'm new to this eat more to weigh less thing although I have been told about it numerous times but I was reluctant to give it a go...