finding your motivation

Options
I can't pretend that I'm a weightloss/fitness professional because I'm clearly not. But over the years, being a woman, and obseving other women, I wanted to write this post to discuss my observations, as well as what we can use and pull out of ourselves to help motivate us to keep going.
I've observed many women who are super competitive about everything, including weightloss. They have to keep wearing a certain size clothing, they have to be the "skinny" friend, if one woman loses weight in the group, this particular woman will stop at nothing to lose more (even secretly going to weight-loss clinics, joining nutrisystem, etc.) If she knows that you workout, she has to top you, there...too. She is also the friend who sabotages the other friends by pushing food on them. She uses competition (in a not healthy way) to motivate herself to keep slim. I feel there is a healthy way to use competition to motivate ourselves, and that's to compete with ourselves by say building our time walking by 5 more minutes, or using more healthy substitutes, etc. Challege ourselves to do a little more, improving our fitness level.
I've seen alot of women who lose weight for an event or they want to lose weight for a particular outfit. They use this type of motivation. This is what I'm trying to do right now. There is a photo on my ticker progress tape of a woman in a bathing suit on a vacation, somewhere. I really want to go on a vacation somewhere with my husband, a sunny, beach destination, where I can feel comfortable in a swimsuit. Our whole married life, we hardly went on any vacations, whenever we had the financial means to go, I held us back because I was too ashamed of myself...to appear in public in a swimsuit. Life's too short, and if I have a dream, I have to make it happen!