Looking for clean eating friends:)

Options
lmw71282
lmw71282 Posts: 24 Member
I am looking for some friends that are also interested in eating clean. I have no clue where to start with it because I also have children and a limited budget due to going to school. I need some help thinking of great meal ideas that the kids would eat too.

Replies

• amd027
    amd027 Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    I would like to learn more too...a friend of mine posts on the gracious pantry sometimes, but I wouldn't mind joining in on the journey here!
  • kellyscomeback
    kellyscomeback Posts: 1,369 Member
    Options
    You can friend me but my definition of CE is not 100%, my husband won't eat a lot of whole wheat products and I have a picky toddler so instead of being a short order cook I will eat white rice or refined pastas to make cooking easier.

I just try not to eat processed, pre-packaged foods, cheat once a week and I do sometimes sneak a cookie.

My tip to eat clean on a budget is to shop the store ads and stock up when there's a good sale. I shop at 2-3 stores, 1 is down the street and I go there in a pinch (otherwise it's too expensive for general shopping), Raley's weekly because they have great sales, great rewards program where I get money back 4 times a year and buy one get one free meat sales at least every 2 months, then Safeway if it's a really good sale. I also plan my menus around what's in season, on sale or recipes that call for the same ingredients. I also double/triple recipes and freeze so all I need to do is defrost and add a side (I have taco/burrito fixings, salsbury steaks, pulled pork, etc.).
  • libertygirlfla
    libertygirlfla Posts: 184 Member
    Options