new to Paleo

Options
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to Paleo. Ive tried it on occasion, but it never lasted very long. I have a marathon coming up, and my traditional American diet just didn't give me what I needed for my last one. Ive decided to really commit for 30 days and see if this is right for me. Its only been about a week and so far I'm sluggish and tired. I know there's going to be a transitional phase, but could someone please share some encou4aging words? Let me know how you got through transitioning or how great your eventual results have been. Id love to hear about it.

Thanks!

Replies

• Akimajuktuq
    Akimajuktuq Posts: 3,037 Member
    Options
    Hi. I am currently "doing" my first Whole30 (day 5) but I have been keto Primal for a year. There is a transitional phase that varies by person. You will get through it and you will feel awesome soon.... as long as you stick with it! It's a lifestyle that needs 100% commitment; at least in the beginning.

I am mostly having a fairly easy time with my Whole30 because the only big change was giving up the dairy. However, the dairy is not going down without a fight. Day 3 really sucked.

Try to get through the 30 days and see how you feel. Keep in mind though, depending on health issues etc, some people take longer to get their health issues resolved. Mine will take 2 years at least, but already my health improvements are AMAZING. Weight loss? That's nice, but not my primary focus. I'm Paleo for life; no deadline.
  • momof2osaurus
    momof2osaurus Posts: 477 Member
    Options
    Yeah, I felt like crap for a bit in the beginning too. Now I feel like crap when I don't eat paleo. :) I've heard adding some more fat can help with the yuck that comes at first too, maybe give that a try? Feel free to friend me!
  • rkasper22
    rkasper22 Posts: 61 Member
    Options