Strikes at McDonald's, Wendy's to pay employees $15 hour.

Options

Replies

• k8blujay2
    k8blujay2 Posts: 4,941 Member
    Options

I have a question for those who are against a "living wage" (not sure where I fall on this yet). A major point for these is that they are jobs meant for unskilled workers. Do you support government funds going toward establishing programs to teach the unskilled workers skills so that they can find viable employment?

We already have those programs. The lazy people who want to earn 15 an hour for doing nothing, don't want to sign up and learn a viable skill.
    there are endless government funded job training classes to take.

This. Everywhere that I have ever lived, there have also been this thing called a community college... they are cheaper than dirt and usually have programs to teach people a skill. The one I graduated from had Cosmotology, Auto Mechanics, Auto Body, Electrician, HVAC, Welding, Carpentry... and a few others that escape me right now. These were all valid two year programs that qualified for the Pell grant (which if you were awarded the full amount (as I was and my dad was in the military at the time) then the Pell would more than cover the tuition, fees and books needed to go. My brother got into the HVAC and as Electricians apprentice just by working his *kitten* off.

You don't even have to do it through a college. Every single unemployment office everywhere offers job training classes free.

And there is that. I know my brother didn't go to college to work as an electrician and in HVAC. He apprenticed. But my point is, that it is fairly easy to gain a skill to be better paid... one just must do it. And according to Mike Rowe (of Dirty Jobs) there are lots of skilled blue collar jobs out there... people just need to go get them. Some of them even pay better than what most college graduates can make.
  • k8blujay2
    Options