Trouble gripping on deadlift

Options
Shaky44
Shaky44 Posts: 214 Member
Total NOOB question . . . As the weight on my deadlift has increased, I've increasingly had trouble gripping the bar. I haven't failed yet, but it seems inevitable that my grip will fail before my back or legs do. Is this normal?

Also, I casually brought this up to a friend (I have no idea how knowledgeable he is) and he mentioned using "wraps." When I started researching this tonight, it seemed like maybe he actually meant to say "straps" by his description. Are either of these recommended for the deadlift? I don't have any history of wrist injury.

Replies

• tsimblist
    tsimblist Posts: 206 Member
    Options
    I have the same problem. My grip is my weak link. But I have no interest in using gear as a work around.

I have resorted to the mixed grip for the heavy lifts and the overhand grip for the lighter warm up sets.

I have also started using a pair of Iron Bull TGrips when I do Straight Leg Deadlifts on my recovery day. I just did 5 sets of 10 reps with 80 lbs using the TGrips this past Saturday. My forearms were burning on the reps of the last set. I am hoping this will help with my grip strength. Time will tell.
  • cajuntank
    cajuntank Posts: 924 Member
    Options
    Deadlifts will helps build your grip strength for sure...I try to not do reverse grip till the weight gets really heavy.

http://stronglifts.com/7-ways-increase-deadlift-grip-strength/

Also, I have heard some people mention hook-grip (Google it).
  • Shaky44
    Shaky44 Posts: 214 Member
    Options
    Deadlifts will helps build your grip strength for sure...I try to not do reverse grip till the weight gets really heavy.

http://stronglifts.com/7-ways-increase-deadlift-grip-strength/

Also, I have heard some people mention hook-grip (Google it).