Netting under 1000 calories (ketosis)

Options
HI, newbie here:

I was wondering if anyone else was doing a low carb/ high protein diet. I'm having such a hard time fitting in my calories because I'm so full all the time - then, right before bed, I am SO hungry and mindy-lahiri-style zero out my fridge with whatever will fit in my mouth.

I've been trying to drink protein shakes (low or no carbs) as fillers throughout the day, but I'm still netting under 1000 calories. That is NOT okay, and, as a biochemist, I know its wreaking havoc on my metabolic system.

I know adding olive oil is a good start, but I already feel so heavy eating so much protein.

Any suggestions?

Also, I'd love to have some keto friends who can help me when I get those crazy keto headaches around week 2... those are the worst.
(I originally put this in the main food and nutrition thread, but found this message board instead! Oops..)

Replies

• Caeyla
    Caeyla Posts: 42 Member
    Options
    I can't see your diary, but you probably need to increase fat. How high is your protein? With calories that low, low carb and high protein can be dangerous. You need either carbs or fat for fuel (but obviously on a keto board, we're gonna tell you to eat more fat). :wink:

Check this site to get an idea of what your macros should be: http://keto-calculator.ankerl.com/
  • ginnyspencer1
    ginnyspencer1 Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    I have a couple of hunger-fighters in my arsenal, all ingredients at my office and at home: (1) Green tea or coffee + stevia + 1/2-1 Tbsp unrefined coconut oil, and (2) Beef broth (yes, the powder out of a jar/box that's like $3 for a ton of powder) + 1/2-1 Tbsp unrefined coconut oil.