Calories required in other weight-lifting programs???

Options
Nibbles
Nibbles Posts: 8 Member
I'm new to the EMTWL forum and just wondered why does fitness programs such as Chalene Extreme state in her eating plan that if you weight, 140, which is what I weight, that I should eat 1300 calories? Apparently other fitness guides say this too, so I'm a bit confused about where that number comes from based on the EMTWL theory and why fitness EXPERTS would allow these low calories when you're working their weight programs? If anyone can give me a good explanation, that would be great!

Replies

• mymodernbabylon
    mymodernbabylon Posts: 1,038 Member
    Options
    Because people want to lose weight quickly and it will happen that way. If they say that you'll lose 1/2 lb a week over a long period of time, people won't do it. But lose 2-4 lb a week? Hell yeah. My guess is that these 'fitness gurus' know that it's not sustainable, but they want to make money and so they go with the flow. They don't actually care about whether or not you are getting enough nutrients or protein...just making money.
  • thyme4
    thyme4 Posts: 35 Member
    Options
    I have done several BB programs (Combat remains my all time favorite cardio routine). However, I toss their nutrition guides. I don't want to suggest that they are purposely misleading, because their advice is pretty consistent with lots of other programs out there. I just think it is misguided. I am pretty sure that if I had followed their guidelines I would still be trying to figure out how to lose those last 10 pounds...just like everyone else who was in my original "challenge group".
  • Nibbles
    Options
    Thanks for the feedback ladies.

I get what you're saying and completely believe its about the money and fast weight loss, which is sad when so many of us just want to get it right!