Thinking of switching to keto

Options
I've been low-carbing it for just a week now and finally decided to look up the Keto diet out of curiosity. I saw on RuledMe a 30 day meal plan. It looks interesting to me. I like how the plan and shopping list is laid out so I think I could really do this. I've been eating 1200 calories or so/day and around 30 carb gms and it's recommending higher calories, mostly from fat (1600 with only 20 gms of fat). If you've done this plan before, how did it work out for you? What is the next step after the 30 days? Is it considered "too extreme" even in low-carb world or is it a reasonable 30 day venture?

Replies

• wonderfullymadebyhim
    Options
    P.S. I don't have any health issues that I know of but I am 41 and I am worried I'm going to see some in the future if I don't get to my ideal healthy weight!
  • kkimpel
    kkimpel Posts: 303 Member
    Options
    I have been working at losing it since 2011 .. and I lost 60 lbs .. then gained back 20 .. In May I started a low carb diet .. almost 40 lbs later I am within a few pounds of my goal.

I had a before and after picture.. but it was huge.. let me figure out how to shrink it.. :) .
  • camtosh
    camtosh Posts: 898 Member
    Options
    Keto is not just a 30-day plan, so you can keep doing it as long as you like. I think the short term idea is closer to the Atkins induction phase, with the transition into OWL, which is higher carbs added back in slowly, up to about 100 gr/day.

To learn more, read the FAQ at this site: reddit.com/r/keto/ and read the many daily posts of all the people living the keto life! There is also a keto group here on MFP, try posting there, too. http://www.myfitnesspal.com/forums/show/1160-keto

Just be aware of the "keto flu" which can last a few weeks--eat more salt. Once you get through that, you should feel really good. It is a lifestyle change, not just a quick weight loss diet, though that is a nice result.