Introduce Yourself

Options

Replies

• WhatMeRunning
    WhatMeRunning Posts: 3,538 Member
    Options
    Hello, name is Chris and I am new to the running challenges, and still pretty much new to running overall.

I never was able to really do running in my youth mostly due to always getting really bad shin splints every single time I started getting serious about distance running. So I accepted that I was not a runner. This was cemented after a knee injury in my 20's really.

Now in my 40's I began focusing on losing weight, and after a while started walking to get in exercise. I never thought it would lead to running, but it has.

I recently completed my first 10k, and am now seeing how I am doing in training to see if I can ramp up to a half marathon in my area in mid-November. I am OK if I am not able to train to that level in time, and my long run this weekend will be a make or break determination point. If I can't pull off the 8 miles for whatever reason, I'll just keep on running at 6+ miles and increasing distance as I can and have all of next year to look at longer distances.

Amazingly, I have not had shin splints once and I am running further on each run day than I ever did at any point in my life prior to my recent running escapades. My only setbacks have been from overtraining, and some rest and nutrition has pulled me through each of those quickly enough.

I admit I'm a little curious to see what adjustments I will have to make to running as winter approaches. I plan to keep running outdoors whenever possible, and learning how to adapt to weather patterns to fit in my runs. Worst case scenario, my gym has a small indoor track I can run on.