Exercise ideas

Options
Alright, I'm trying to find the "right" way for me to get more exercise into my life. I'm 30 years old, about 5'8" and just north of 330 pounds. I can get very intense, but often feel that my weight is holding me back from doing the kinds of exercise I want to do most. My husband says that I mentally can do the things that I physiclly can't do, and easily get frustrated that these two aspects of myself aren't more equal. A few years ago, I studied Ti Kwon Do, but reached a point where I simply couldn't kick as high as I needed to in order to advance. I'm currently involved in archery, which is good strength training, but doesn't do much for burning calories. I enjoy walking, except when the weather's bad or I get lazy.... bad excuse, that's something else I'm working on.

My husband and I love to scuba dive on our vacations, so he thought some kind of water aerobics would be good for me, but I'm having a hard time picturing 1) myself in a swim suit in public and 2) water aerobics as something other than half a dozen 80 year old grandmothers doing synchronized swimming. I know other types of programs must exist, that's just the picture that always comes to my head.

Anyway, I wanted to see if any of you had similar issues and what types of things you have tried and enjoyed.

PS- if anyone does water aerobics I absolutely meant no offense! I know that different things work for different people, and what I picture in my head isn't one of those things I could get excited enough to do that I would actually do it, and that's what I'm looking for.

Replies

• vaunche
    vaunche Posts: 25 Member
    Options