new fun: ocular migraines

Options
Sabine_Stroehm
Sabine_Stroehm Posts: 19,263 Member
I'm getting 2 or 3 a day right now.
Not "real" migraines, in that I only get a tiny headache, but I get 30 minutes worth of the visual problems, the "aura" etc.

Started this week.

I can't decide if it's another hormone shift
or
stress (finals etc, I'm a professor)
or
the big shift in our weather
or
that I have a sinus infection.

All I know is: It's annoying to go "blind" once or twice a day....

A friend suggested rubbing vicks on my nose and on my temples....it sounded silly, but the aura went away almost immediately.
Hope it wasn't a fluke!

Replies

• Gail3260
    Gail3260 Posts: 354 Member
    Options
    I get those but only occasionally and I don't think mine are hormone related. They can be very disconcerting particularly if I'm driving.
    I just try to find a quiet place to sit, close my eyes and relax.....obviously not while driving. lol
  • alvalaurie
    alvalaurie Posts: 369 Member
    Options
    O. M. G.

I get these too! Please don't tell me these are ANOTHER symptom of menopause? **groans**

I try to explain to my fiance that it's not like a headache, it's just like my eyes hurt. Can't see, can't think, don't wanna open my eyes. Trouble is, mine usually last a whole day. I was chalking it up to *ahem* getting older & possibly needing glasses. Never crossed my mind it could be related to this.

Lovely! :frown:
  • Gail3260
    Gail3260 Posts: 354 Member
    Options
    O. M. G.

I get these too! Please don't tell me these are ANOTHER symptom of menopause? **groans**

I try to explain to my fiance that it's not like a headache, it's just like my eyes hurt. Can't see, can't think, don't wanna open my eyes. Trouble is, mine usually last a whole day. I was chalking it up to *ahem* getting older & possibly needing glasses. Never crossed my mind it could be related to this.