Help me set goals

Options
After struggling the last 5 months with no weight loss - I'm going to try and accept moving into recomp and focusing on strength goals.

Is it reasonable to try and set a target PR/range to hit by the end of 2016? I feel like I would work harder if I knew I needed to add 5 pounds at every X interval in order to hit a goal. Otherwise, it's too easy to let the whiny/tired voices in my head make an excellent case of why my workout is good enough. :wink:

Any recommendations on how I would set the target weight ranges? For reference, I started lifting in December 2014 doing SL with the bar only. My numbers for 5 reps are now:

Squat -135
Dead -160
Bench - 95
OHP - 65
Pendlay - 80

Thank you!

Replies

• nossmf
    nossmf Posts: 9,101 Member
    Options
    Goals will vary widely by person, but my main recommendation would be to not try to get a new PR on all the lifts at the same time. Pick a lift to improve, set a goal of adding 5 or 10 lbs, and keep the others the same while you focus on just that one lift. Once the goal is achieved, pick one of the other lifts to do the same treatment.

My other suggestion is to have a primary-backup plan in place, so if you just aren't feeling it on your primary lift that day/week you move to your alternate. For example, let's say I want to improve my squat, but my knee is really bothering me when I wake up in the morning. For today I'll then use my alternate lift, say the OHP. Make your alternate use different muscles than your primary (don't pair OHP with bench, for example).
  • DopeItUp
    DopeItUp Posts: 18,771 Member
    Options
    That's gonna be pretty hard when we don't know what your rate of progress currently is or your height or your weight or anything related (such as other performance goals like running).

I'd focus more on smaller goals and following a program with set weight increases.