Question about net carbs

Options
Hey all, I'm fairly new to all of this ketosis or ketogenic. I have read a lot of different news outlets online and there is still one thing I'm not 100% sure on.
So I know that low carb diet can mean different things to people and in order to reach ketosis the carb intake can vary person to person. I have seen some articles refer to net carbs and only address or count carbs from sugar and not fiber. So my main question was, when doing this ketosis diet, are we counting overall carbs and also, just to get an idea how many carbs is your personal goal?
Thank you for reading! I hope someone can clarify this for me.

Replies

• SuesNewImage
    SuesNewImage Posts: 743 Member
    Options
    I just count full carbs and don't worry about the net. What I understand is you negative out the fibre grams to get the net. I've found its just one more thing to monitor and don't want that. I aim for 25 grams net in theory but track my goal for the full carbs at 30g so it's simple on MFP. Many days I'm was under though. I found once I'm Keto adapted I can have up to 45g before I'm kicked out of Ketosis. If I only blow out for 1 day, I'm back in Ketosis within 48 hours.
  • KnitOrMiss
    KnitOrMiss Posts: 10,104 Member
    Options
    Typically, net carbs is considered to be total carbs minus fibers, and sometimes sugar alcohols, because both are supposed to not affect blood sugars.

This is not always true. Also, in the UK and other places in Europe, the fiber grams are typically already subtracted, so if you do this in that locale, you could actually be consuming far more than you think.

Sugar alcohols typically are recommended to count half the carbs, depending on which type, as many affect blood sugars symptomatically, rather than directly.