March Q and A thread

Options

Replies

• nossmf
    nossmf Posts: 9,089 Member
    Options
    jmule24, I'm not an expert in bench pressing, but I do notice your left arm lifting faster than your right. This could be a strength imbalance; doing unilateral movements would help (DB bench press rather than BB for instance).
  • mrp56839
    mrp56839 Posts: 159 Member
    Options
    nossmf wrote: »
    Sounds about right, 4-6 months is pretty normal for newbie gainz to skyrocket. You can also get a similar effect even as an established lifter when you first start doing a new lift -- I only added deadlifts after lifting for several years, and I was able to add a couple hundred pounds in just a couple months, though most of that gain was learning proper technique (which I still struggle with). Same principle would apply if tomorrow I tried doing Olympic cleans for the first time.

Thanks! So does that mean I should accept where I'm at until I'm done actively losing? Any way to make some kind of progress in a deficit? I guess I just don't know what I'm looking/shooting for.
  • giusa
    giusa Posts: 577 Member
    edited March 2016
    Options
    A coworker just told me he started jogging and is gaining muscle...from jogging...ha? Am I missing something?
  • SideSteel
    SideSteel Posts: 11,068 Member
    Options
    giusa wrote: »
    A coworker just told me he started jogging and is gaining muscle...from jogging...ha? Am I missing something?

The only scenario I could imagine would be going from completely sedentary to jogging and in that case I'd only suspect a short term training effect.
  • giusa
    giusa Posts: 577 Member
    Options
    I've been trying to wrap my head over his comment, he was so serious. My thought, he indicated that he lost 10 lbs therefore I'm assuming he lost the fat covering his muscles which are now visible, hence his theory that he gained muscle. And now time to move on - Happy Spring.
  • nossmf
    Options
    mrp56839 wrote: »